2019 · Book Review · Bookish · Fiction · Indie Authors · Paranormal · Romance · Sara Crawford · Vampires · YA

Book Review of Into the Shadows: An action-packed, fast-paced read!

Untitled design-13.png

44156020.jpg

2

Blurb

Is Chloe ready to travel into the shadows?

Chloe Chastain thought the mysterious stranger from the internet was just another obsessed fan of her favorite vampire books, and she grew close to him, letting him see into her soul. When she discovered that he was the actual dangerous vampire, Theodore Dupont, from her favorite books, she vowed to forget him.

After an encounter with her childhood bully goes horribly wrong, she knows Theodore is the only one she can turn to for help, and she travels to New Orleans to find him. As she learns all about the world of the vampires and her role in it, she tries to resist her connection with Theodore, but she’s not even sure if she wants to anymore.

When she finds out how much is at stake for not only Theodore and herself, but the entire New Orleans supernatural community, she’s forced to make an impossible choice.

Fans of The Vampire Diaries and Anne Rice’s Vampire Chronicles will love this Southern gothic young adult vampire romance.

2

My Review

I received a review copy in exchange for an honest review.

Into the shadows is a short novel Sara wrote while she was working on and struggling with the final book in The Muse Chronicles series, You and the Night. I am highly anticipating this book finale, which I guess is very clear since the first two books made it to my Top 18 in 2018 bookish list. So when Sara reached out and asked if I wanted to read and review Into the Shadows, I said of course!

This book sort of hit a sweet spot for me cause teenage me had a WIP about a girl who loved reading about vampires and ends up discovering that the fictional world she once loved and devoured is actually a harsh existing reality. This made me so excited to see something a bit similar written and published.

Into the Shadows is a fun, action-packed, entertaining, fast read. The writing style and pacing are so different than those in The Muse Chronicles. It is very reminiscent of Michelle Madow’s novel writing style, which I actually love and enjoy. But these kinds of stories tend to be very fast paced, making them often miss out on exploring the storyline in a more detailed way. Because I enjoyed the plot and the characters, I was disappointed I couldn’t be fully immersed in this fictional world. However, I do feel like the sequel is going to be more detailed, and I am looking forward to seeing what happens next. That ending was very interesting…..

If this sounds like your cup of tea, then feel free to grab your copy here! This is an affiliate link so I might get a commission if you decide to make any purchases. 

Till next time,

Ayah.png

Have you read any book from The Muse Chronicles? Do you enjoy the Paranormal/Vampire genre? What is your favorite Vampire book or tv show? Mine are Buffy the Vampire Slayer & Angel! Who is surprised, though?

Advertisements

One thought on “Book Review of Into the Shadows: An action-packed, fast-paced read!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s