Book Review · Bookish · Fantasy · Thriller · YA

Book Review: Violet Grenade by Victoria Scott

cover103547-medium.pngTitle: Violet Grenade

Author: Victoria Scott

Publisher: Entangled Teen

Publication Date: May 16th, 2017

Genre: Thriller, Fantasy, Mental Illness, YA

Format: Review e-copy

My Rating: 4.5/5 stars

 

 

Somewhere is this world, there is a woman who gives 2nd chances to homeless and broken girls. She grants them a ceiling to live under, and food to fills their empty stomaches. All that they have to join return is to entertain her guests every night.

Little did she know what her latest addition is capable of doing. Little did she know that Domino was a grenade that is ticking away her days, until it was the perfect time for her to explode!

 

Violet Grenade is an enticing, dark read that will leave you hungry for more.

It is all about how everyone has a dark secret, a forbidden identity that is shunned in modern society. An incantation that is written all over our souls because of a past traumatic experience. A spell that requires lots of battles to be lost; in order to win the war, and lift the curse.

I have never related to a character, as much as I did with Domino. It wasn’t that I related with the events, but with the emotions and thoughts that she kept having and expressing.

I believe that at least one character in this book struggles with Mental Illness. It might be DID, but it was never mentioned. At first I wasn’t sure about how I felt about this, but with time, it made sense. The character couldn’t afford food, so how can she afford a Dr. appointment. But from my humble amount of reading about DID, I think that the representation was okayish. I am recommending this book to a friend who knows much more about this. 

I absolutely enjoyed my very 1st Victoria Scott book! I already own Fire & Flood, and after reading Violet Grenade, I am going to push it to the top of my tbr.

                                              

bnwdYyGA_400x400.jpgAbout the Author:

Victoria Scott is the author of eight novels including TitansFire & Flood, Salt & Stone, the Dante Walker trilogy, Hear the Wolves (March 2017), and Violet Grenade (May 2017). She is published by Scholastic and Entangled Teen, and is represented by Sara Crowe of Pippin Properties.

Victoria’s latest novel, Titans, received two starred reviews, and Fire & Flood has been selected as a 2017 Spirit of Texas Reading Program book. Victoria’s novels have been bought and translated in fourteen foreign markets. The author currently resides in Philadelphia, and loves hearing from her readers.

 

 

 

Ayah.png

 

One thought on “Book Review: Violet Grenade by Victoria Scott

  1. I’ll definitely have to check out this book further. Thanks for introducing it to me, and for such a great review!

    I’m new to blogging and book reviewing, and am very impressed by your blog. I was wondering if you had any tips for newbie bloggers and book reviewers.

    If you have the time, please check out my blog @breenysbooks. I’d love any feedback. Have a wonderful day.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

