Bookish · Retellings

Book Review: RoseBlood by A.G. Howard

28818314

 

Title: RoseBlood

Author: A.G. Howard

Publisher: Amulet Books

Publication Date: Jan 10th, 2017

Genre: Retelling, YA, Fantasy, Romance

My Rating: 4.5/5 stars

 

 

 

I received a review copy in exchange with an honest review.

The writing style in this book will enchant you with its hypnotizing symphony.

I am a huge fan of the Splintered book ( Yes, I know that Splintered is actually a book series, but bookstores over here only have Splintered. No,don’t suggest pirating the book online!) I was mesmerized by Howard’s writing Style; as well as, her cleverly spun twists on the classic Tale. With Roseblood, I can easily say that she absolutely delivered.

This is a retelling of Leroux’s gothic tale of The Phantom of the Opera. Rune Germain is 17 years old girl who is having has a mysterious dilemma  linked to her operatic talent, and a horrifying mistake she’s trying to hide and understand. Her mother sends her to a French arts  for her senior year to give Rune’s talent clear direction. This school is located in an opera house rumored to have ties to The Phantom of the Opera!

“One paragraph is all I needed to fall in love with this story !!!”

I am not even exaggerating! The descriptions that build this book are absolutely phenomenal. The words are intoxicatingly lyrical and luscious, with a spoonful of Goth beautifully spilled in. This makes it one of the best lyrical, twisted tales that I have ever read.

The beginning of the story is bit slow, true. But you have these pretty words to hang on until all of the oohs and Ahhs kick in.

Every single aspect of the main characters, as well as the plot, is well fleshed out, making every single back story worth the wait.

I don’t want to spoil anything, but let us just say that  A.G. Howard will manipulate your mood’s auras to every single color known to mankind.

GO GRAB THIS BOOK ALREADY, K?????

Can’t wait to read more A.G. Howard haunting stories. I give it 4.5/5 stars.

                                                            *

                                                            *

                                                            *

                                                            *

 

        Isn’t the cover Gorgeous??? I even face swapped with it!

czfgfvawiaejmmg

5186274  

About the Author: 

A.G. Howard is the International and NYT bestselling author of the Splintered Series, with a slew of other classical spinoffs and original stories in the works that she hopes will one day find a place on the shelves. 

She was inspired to write her tribute to Carroll’s Wonderland while working at a school library. Her pastimes are reading, rollerblading, gardening, and family vacations which often include impromptu side trips to 18th century graveyards or        condemned schoolhouses to appease her overactive muse.  

5 thoughts on “Book Review: RoseBlood by A.G. Howard

  1. I’m not really familiar with the tale of The Phantom of the Opera, I have watched little bits of the movie but I don’t really know what happens in it. So I’m really curious about this book, I have heard great things about it and I can’t wait to see for myself if it’s as good as you make it sound. Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m grabbing this book right now!!! haha, I won it in a giveaway of an Owl Crate box that had this book and it does sound really interesting. I love Phantom Of The Opera and anything inspired by it immediately gets my interest 😀
    Love how you gushed about this book. I can tell you really liked it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

